duminică, 14 septembrie 2008



Football was introduced to Madrid by the professors and students of the Institución Libre de Enseñanza, who included several Oxbridge graduates. They founded the club Football Club Sky in 1897, playing on Sunday mornings at Moncloa. This club split in 1900 into two different clubs: New Foot-Ball de Madrid and Club Español de Madrid. The latter club split again in 1902, resulting in the formation of Madrid Football Club on 6 March 1902. Only three years after its foundation, in 1905, Madrid FC won its first official title in the history of the club after defeating Athletic Bilbao in the Spanish Cup final. The team won the first of four consecutive Copa del Rey titles (at that time the only statewide competition). The club became one of the founding sides of the Spanish Football Association on 4 January 1909, when club president Adolfo Meléndez signed the foundation agreement of the Spanish FA. After moving between some minor grounds, in 1912, the team settled at the ground that came to be called 'Campo de O'Donnell'. In 1920, the club's name was changed to Real Madrid after King Alfonso XIII granted the title of Real (Royal) to the club.

Real Madrid team in 1925
On 1929, the First Spanish football League was founded. Real Madrid had the lead going into the last match of the season, but the loss to Athletic Bilbao at San Mamés kept Madrid from winning the title. They had to settle for runner-up, just one point behind Barcelona. Real Madrid won its first League title in the 1931-32 season. The Whites won the League again the following year, and thus became the first side to have won the championship twice.
Santiago Bernabéu Yeste became President of Real Madrid in 1945. Under his presidency, the club, the Santiago Bernabéu Stadium and the Ciudad Deportiva were rebuilt following the Spanish Civil War. Beginning in 1953, he embarked upon a strategy of signing world-class players from abroad, the most prominent of them being the signing of Alfredo di Stéfano. Thus, he built the world's first multinational side.
In 1955, acting upon the idea proposed by the French sports journalist and editor of L'Équipe Gabriel Hanot, and building upon the Copa Latina (a tournament involving clubs from France, Spain, Portugal and Italy), Bernabéu met in the Ambassador Hotel in Paris with Bedrignan and Gusztáv Sebes and created what today is known as the UEFA Champions League.[20] It was under Bernabéu's guidance that Real Madrid became established as a major force in both Spanish and European football. The club won the European Cup five times in a row between 1956 and 1960, which
marirea penisului included the memorable 7–3 Hampden Park final against Eintracht Frankfurt in 1960. Winning the competition five consecutive times saw Real permanently awarded the original cup and earning the right to wear the UEFA badge of honour. The club won the European Cup for a sixth time in 1966 defeating FK Partizan 2–1 in the final with a team composed entirely of nationally-born players - a first in the competition. It was also runner-up in 1962, 1964 and 1981. The team has also won the UEFA Cup twice, and was twice runner-up in the European Cup Winners Cup.
By the early 1980s, Real Madrid had lost its grasp on the La Liga title until a new batch of home-grown stars, known as La Quinta del Buitre, started to dominate Spanish football. The name "Vulture's Cohort" was derived from the nickname given to one of its members, Emilio Butragueño. The other four members were Manolo Sanchís, Martín Vázquez, Míchel and Miguel Pardeza. With La Quinta del Buitre (reduced to four members when Pardeza left the club for Zaragoza in 1986) Real Madrid had one of the best teams in Spain and Europe during the second half of the 1980s, winning two UEFA Cups and five Spanish championships in a row.
In the early 1990s, La Quinta del Buitre split up after Martín Vázquez, Emilio Butragueño and Míchel left the club. In 1996, President Lorenzo Sanz appointed Fabio Capello as coach.[7] Although his tenure lasted only one season, Real Madrid was proclaimed league champion and players like Roberto Carlos, Predrag Mijatović, Davor Šuker and Clarence Seedorf arrived at the club to strengthen a squad that already boasted the likes of Raúl, Fernando Hierro and Fernando Redondo. As a result, Real Madrid (with the addition of Fernando Morientes in 1997) finally ended its 32-year wait for its seventh European Cup. In 1998, under manager Jupp Heynckes, the Whites defeated Juventus 1–0 in the final thanks to a goal from Predrag Mijatović.
In July 2000, Florentino Pérez was elected club president. His campaign vowed to erase the club's debt and modernize the club's facilities. However, the primary electoral promise that propelled Pérez to victory was the signing of Luís Figo. On 16 July, Pérez won the election. The following year, the club controversially got its training ground rezoned and used the money to begin assembling the famous Galáctico side including players such as Zidane, Ronaldo, Luís Figo, Roberto Carlos, Raúl and David Beckham. It is debatable whether the gamble paid off, as despite a European Cup win in 2002, followed by the League in 2003, the club failed to win a major trophy for the next three seasons.
Real Madrid players celebrate winning the 2008 Supercopa de España
Ramón Calderón was elected as club president in 2 July 2006 and subsequently appointed Fabio Capello as the new coach and Predrag Mijatović as the new sporting director. Real Madrid won the La Liga title in 2007 for the first time in four years. However - despite the achievement of winning La Liga - Capello was dismissed one month later, in June 2007, and was replaced by German manager and former player Bernd Schuster.
The Whites ended the 2007–08 season with the 31st league title and the first consecutive league title in eighteen years. They also established a new La Liga record by scoring 85 points. In 2008-09 preseason, Real Madrid beat Valencia 4-2 and won the Spanish Supercup 6-5 on aggregate. It was the eighth time Real Madrid won the trophy and the first since 2003.

Real Madrid C.F.

Real Madrid Club de Fútbol (also known as Real Madrid, Los Blancos, Los Merengues) is a professional football club based in Madrid, Spain. Founded in 1902, the club plays in La Liga and was voted by FIFA as the most successful football club of the 20th century, having won a record thirty-one La Liga titles, seventeen Copa del Rey and a record nine European Cup titles. Real Madrid was a founding member of The Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the defunct G-14 group of Europe's elite football clubs, and its replacement, the European Club Association.
The club plays its home professional games in the Santiago Bernabéu Stadium in downtown Madrid. Unlike most football clubs, the club members (socios) have owned and operated Real Madrid since its foundation.
Real Madrid maintains a large fanbase and holds numerous long-standing rivalries with several other clubs, the most notable with FC Barcelona with whom they biannually contest the El Clásico. The club is the world's richest in football (€351m) in terms of revenue and the 2nd most valuable (worth over €950m as of 2008).